Research  >  Mesoscopic modelling of biopolymers

Mesoscopic modelling of biopolymers

Members: Jean Cognet.

Our objective is to develop a tool of modelling and simulation of nucleic acids (NA). The proposed approach consists in describing the conformation as a flexible beam, represented by a ribbon, by means of the theory of non-linear elasticity of beams.

The determination of the conformation of NA (DNA or RNA) is a challenge as great as that put by the conformation of proteins. Indeed, the current knowledge of the detailed conformations of NA is very low (5-10 % of the Protein Data Bank, PDB, the bank of all the known conformations of biological macromolecules). Nevertheless since 2000, we admit that the conformation of NA could be as rich and varied as that of the proteins, and that the part of the genome transcribed in ARN is of an order of magnitude greater than that of the proteins. Therefore, the conformational wealth of NA and the low level of current knowledge make difficult the bioinformatic approach, which consists in deducing a conformation from those already known. That is why the physical modelling of biomolecules is very important for NA and one of the major objectives of research in molecular modelling is the treatment of the various scales, atomic and mesoscopic (residues, several nucléotides) in a coherent and physical way.

We developed an approach of molecular modelling called Biopolymer Chain Elasticity (BCE). It is based on the observation that the sugar-phosphate chain of NA behaves at mesoscopic scales as a flexible beam. We recently finalized a protocol for the resolution of the conformation of DNA hairpins [1] (cf. banner above), with which we solved the structure of an aptamer anti-MUC1 [2] (cf. figure 1). The results are remarkable because the conformations correspond at the same time to a minimum at different scales : global, intermediate, and local, i.e. an energy minimum on the scale of the loop of several nucleotides, of the individual nucleotides in the loop, and atomic bonds [1, 2]. Our objective is to generalize this methodology for the hierarchical modelling of NA chains by using the theory of the non-linear elasticity of beams. We approach the problem on two scales: (I) that of the skeleton treated as a geometrical and mechanical object, and (II) that of the side chains, considered as stiff objects articulated around their attachment point onto the skeleton. From then on, a tool of simulation containing real active ribbons for the resolution of macromolecules is possible.

Figure 12D and 3D representations of a hairpin oligonucleotide from NMR data and/or from BCE constructions.


Related job openings

2019
2022
Ph.D.
« Mechanical Alphabet » : for interactive molecular modelling of biopolymers at different scales
2018
2019
Master 2
Practical construction of a multi-scale general description of biopolymers
2018
2019
Master 2
Theoretical construction of a multi-scale general description of biopolymers

Publications

2018

2017

Affinity labelling in situ of the bL12 protein on E. coli 70S ribosomes by means of a tRNA dialdehyde derivative - J. Biochem.
C. Hountondji , J.B. Crechet , J.P. Le Caër , V. Lancelot , J.A.H. Cognet , S. Baouz
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:doi:10.1093/jb/mvx055
Classifications of ideal 3D elastica shapes at equilibrium - J. Maths Phys.
O. Ameline , S. Haliyo , X. Huang , J.A.H. Cognet
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4983570

2012

Solution structure of a truncated anti-MUC1 DNA aptamer determined by mesoscale modeling and NMR - The FEBS Journal
M. Baouendi, , J.A.H. Cognet , C.S. Ferrriera , S. Missailidis , J. Coutant , M. Piotto , E. Hantz, , C. Hervé du Penhoat,
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:doi:10.1111/j.1742-4658.2011.08440.x

2009

La recherche  >  Modélisation mésoscopique des biopolymères

Modélisation mésoscopique des biopolymères

Notre objectif est de développer un outil de modélisation et de simulation des acides nucléiques (AN). L’approche proposée consiste à décrire la conformation comme une tige flexible, figurée par un ruban, au moyen de la théorie d’élasticité non-linéaire des poutres.

La détermination de la conformation des AN (ADN ou ARN) est un défi au moins aussi formidable que celui posé par la conformation des protéines. En effet, la connaissance de la conformation détaillée des AN est très faible (5-10% de la Protein Data Bank, PDB, banque de toutes les conformations connues des macromolécules biologiques). Pourtant depuis 2000, on admet que la conformation des AN simples brins pourrait être aussi riche et variée que celle des protéines, et que la part du génome transcrite en ARN est d’un ordre de grandeur supérieure à celle des protéines. Aussi, la richesse conformationnelle des AN et les faibles connaissances actuelles rendent difficile la démarche bioinformatique qui consiste à inférer une conformation à partir de celles déjà connues. C’est pourquoi la simulation physique des biomolécules est très importante pour les AN et l’un des objectifs majeurs de la recherche en modélisation moléculaire est le traitement des différentes échelles, atomique et mésoscopiques (résidus, plusieurs nucléotides), de façon cohérente et physique.

Nous avons développé une approche de modélisation moléculaire appelée Biopolymer Chain Elasticity (BCE) : elle est fondée sur l’observation que la chaîne sucre-phosphate des AN se comporte aux échelles mésoscopiques comme une tige flexible. Nous avons récemment mis au point un protocole pour la résolution de structure en épingle à cheveux d’ADN [1] (cf. bandeau ci-dessus), avec lequel nous avons résolu la structure d’un aptamère anti-MUC1 [2] (cf. figure 1). Les résultats sont remarquables car les conformations correspondent à la fois à un minimum global, intermédiaire, et local, i.e. un minimum à l’échelle de la boucle de plusieurs nucléotides, du nucléotide dans la boucle, et de la liaison atomique [1, 2]. Notre objectif est de généraliser cette méthodologie pour la modélisation hiérarchique des chaînes d’AN en utilisant la théorie de l’élasticité non-linéaire des poutres. Nous abordons le problème sur deux échelles : (I) celle du squelette traité comme un objet géométrique et mécanique, et (II) celle des chaînes latérales, considérées comme des objets rigides articulés autour de leur point d’attache au squelette. Dès lors, un outil de simulation comportant de vrais rubans actifs pour la résolution des macromolécules est envisageable.

Figure 1 : Représentations 2D et 3D d'un oligonucléotide en épingle à cheveux à partir de données RMN ou de constructions BCE.