Research  >  Mechanics of integrated and artificial biological systems

Mechanics of integrated and artificial biological systems

The MEBS theme revolves around 4 complementary axes, all centered on the mechanics of integrated and artificial biological systems.

On the one hand, we study mechanical transduction processes from the macroscopic scale to the molecular and cellular scales, combining biomimetic approaches with a simple biological system.

  • At the macroscopic scale, we study the human tactile perception of complex fluids (emulsions, suspensions) by the tongue-palate system. On this subject, we are collaborating with the Nestlé Group and its Research Center based in Lausanne, Switzerland, and have developed a device that reproduces the functioning of the oral cavity. In particular, we seek to better understand how the surface structure of the tongue, in the form of papillae, participates in the mechanical filtering of tactile information before any coding by the central nervous system.
  • At molecular and cellular scales, we seek to better understand how the subcutaneous mechanoreceptors (present in humans under the surface of the skin of the fingers, but also in the tongue ...) and which determines in particular their response properties frequency. To this end, we develop model mechanoreceptors consisting of a lipid membrane (of the Droplet Interface Bilayers type) decorated with mechanosensitive ion channels, or assemblies of model cells connected together by these same channels, stimulated under controlled mechanical excitation conditions. For this purpose, we use TX-TL type in-vitro expression techniques for mechanosensitive proteins.
  • We also explore mechanotransduction processes in a mechanosensitive eukaryotic microorganism, paramecium, by developing behavioral experiments (optical tracking of trajectories) coupled with measurements of ionic flux across the membrane, by calcium imaging and electrophysiology. It is more particularly to understand how the behavioral response of the paramecium depends on the geometrical and mechanical properties of obstacles that it encounters.
We are also studying recently a new subject dedicated to the mechanics of biomimetic tissue models. The aim is to study the elastoplastic response of emulsions subjected to controlled mechanical disturbances, in order to better understand the physical bases underlying the collective remodeling of biological tissues, especially during morphogenesis. These emulsions, which are the analog of biological tissues, are formed of oil droplets in an aqueous medium, whose surface can be functionalized to mimic cell-cell adhesion.

Related pages

Human digital tactile perception - A biomimetic approach Resonnant Tactile Systems

Publications

2020

Collective stiffening of soft hair assemblies - Physical Review E Rapid Communication
J.B. Thomazo, , E. Lauga, , B. Le Révérend, , E. Wandersman , A.M. Prevost
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:10.1103/PhysRevE.102.010602
A simple device to immobilize protists for electrophysiology and microinjection - Journal of Experimental Biology
A. Kulkarni, , I. Elices, , N. Escoubet , L.L. Pontani , A.M. Prevost , R. Brette
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:10.1242/jeb.219253

2019

Probing in-mouth texture perception with a biomimetic tongue - Journal of Royal Society Interface
J.B. Thomazo, , J. Pastenes, , C.J. Pipe, , B. Le Révérend, , E. Wandersman , A.M. Prevost
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:10.1098/rsif.2019.0362
Adhesive Contact of Model Randomly Rough Rubber Surfaces - Tribology Letters
V. Acito, , M. Ciavarella, , A.M. Prevost , A. Chateauminois
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:

2018

Quasistatic Microdroplet Production in a Capillary Trap - Phys. Rev. Applied
M. Valet , L.L. Pontani , A. Prevost , E. Wandersman
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevApplied.9.014002

2016

Whisker contact detection of rodents based on slow and fast mechanical inputs - Frontiers in Behavioral Neuroscience
N. Claverie , Y. Boubenec, , G. Debrégeas , A. Prevost , E. Wandersman
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:doi: 10.3389/fnbeh.2016.00251

2015

Normal contact and friction of rubber with model randomly rough surfaces - Soft Matter
S. Yashima, , V. Romero , E. Wandersman , C. Frétigny, , M.K. Chaudhury, , A. Chateauminois, , A.M. Prevost
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:10.1039/c4sm02346c

2014

2011

La recherche  >  Mécanique des systèmes biologiques intégrés et artificiels

Mécanique des systèmes biologiques intégrés et artificiels

La thématique MEBS s’articule autour de 4 axes complémentaires, tous centrés sur la mécanique de systèmes biologiques intégrés et artificiels.

Nous étudions d’une part les processus de transduction mécanique depuis l’échelle macroscopique jusqu’aux échelles moléculaires et cellulaires, en combinant approches biomimétiques et un système biologique simple. 

  • A l’échelle macroscopique, nous étudions la perception tactile humaine de fluides complexes (émulsions, suspensions) par le système langue-palais. Sur ce sujet, nous collaborons avec le groupe Nestlé et son Centre de Recherches basé à Lausanne en Suisse, et avons développé un dispositif qui reproduit le fonctionnement de la cavité orale. Nous cherchons en particulier à mieux comprendre comment la structuration de surface de la langue, sous forme de papilles, participe au filtrage mécanique de l’information tactile avant tout codage par le système nerveux central.
  • Aux échelles moléculaires et cellulaires, nous cherchons à mieux comprendre comment fonctionnent les mécanorécepteurs sous-cutanés (présents chez l’humain sous la surface de la peau des doigts, mais également dans la langue…) et ce qui détermine notamment leurs propriétés de réponse fréquentielle. Nous développons pour cela des mécanorécepteurs modèles constitués d’une membrane lipidique (de type Droplet Interface Bilayers) décorée de canaux ioniques mécanosensibles, ou des assemblées de cellules modèles connectées entre elles par ces mêmes canaux, stimulés dans des conditions d’excitation mécanique contrôlées. Nous utilisons pour cela des techniques d’expression in-vitro de type TX-TL de protéines mécanosensibles.
  • Nous explorons également les processus de mécanotransduction chez un micro-organisme unicellulaire eucaryote mécanosensible, la paramécie, en développant des expériences de comportement (suivi optique de trajectoires) couplées à des mesures des flux ioniques à travers la membrane, par imagerie calcique et électrophysiologie. Il s’agit plus particulièrement de comprendre comment la réponse comportementale de la paramécie dépend des propriétés géométriques et mécaniques d’obstacles qu’elle rencontre.
Nous étudions d’autre part depuis peu un nouveau sujet dédié à la mécanique de tissus biomimétiques modèles. Il s’agit ici d’étudier la réponse élasto-plastique d’émulsions soumises à des perturbations mécaniques contrôlées, afin de mieux comprendre les bases physiques qui sous-tendent le remodelage collectif de tissus biologiques, notamment pendant la morphogénèse. Ces émulsions, qui sont l’analogue de tissus biologiques, sont formés de gouttelettes d’huile en milieu aqueux, dont la surface peut être fonctionnalisée pour mimer l’adhésion cellule-cellule.

Pages reliées

Approche biomimétique de la perception tactile digitale humaine Systèmes Tactiles Résonnants

Publications

2019

Probing in-mouth texture perception with a biomimetic tongue - Journal of Royal Society Interface
J.B. Thomazo , J. Pastenes , C.J. Pipe , B. Le Révérend , E. Wandersman , A.M. Prevost
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:10.1098/rsif.2019.0362
Adhesive Contact of Model Randomly Rough Rubber Surfaces - Tribology Letters
V. Acito, , M. Ciavarella, , A.M. Prevost, , A. Chateauminois
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:

2018

Quasistatic Microdroplet Production in a Capillary Trap - Phys. Rev. Applied
M. Valet , L.L. Pontani , A. Prevost , E. Wandersman
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevApplied.9.014002

2016

Whisker contact detection of rodents based on slow and fast mechanical inputs - Frontiers in Behavioral Neuroscience
N. Claverie , Y. Boubenec, , G. Debrégeas , A. Prevost , E. Wandersman
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:doi: 10.3389/fnbeh.2016.00251

2015

Normal contact and friction of rubber with model randomly rough surfaces - Soft Matter
S. Yashima, , V. Romero , E. Wandersman , C. Frétigny, , M.K. Chaudhury, , A. Chateauminois, , A.M. Prevost
  URL Full text PDF Bibtex doi:10.1039/c4sm02346c

2011